Aeronautic & space – Major turbulence

Training objective

The students will acquire theoretical, numerical and experimental skills essential for the understanding, modeling and control of turbulent flows and of critical value in many application areas.

This masters course offers training of the highest international standard supported by the latest research developments. The students will be trained in fluid mechanics in general and turbulent flows in particular in the aim to pursue a career in either academic or industrial sectors. They will acquire theoretical, modeling, numerical and experimental skills and expertise needed to address modern application challenges in a vast range of areas such as aerodynamics, aeroacoustics, turbomachinery, renewable energy, etc.

Learning objectives

Turbulence presents one of the greatest challenges to the advancement of both science and engineering. Whether the primary interest is the environment, energy, industrial processes, or aero/hydrodynamics, turbulent processes often dominate. In the absence of a complete theoretical understanding or general turbulence models, the engineering practice of dealing with turbulence is as much an art as it is science or engineering.

The programme is designed to introduce students to both the science and the art of turbulence at an early point in their studies. This knowledge can then be applied immediately to the large number of disciplines where turbulence occurs, including (but not limited to) environmental processes, combustion, engine technology, heat transfer, energy production, vehicle design, and most fluid/thermal/chemical systems.

The fundamental concepts of turbulence theory are taught together with advanced, state-of-the-art computational and experimental methodologies, so the student not only gains an understanding of all three, but learns how they can be used together. The goal is to prepare students to directly apply the acquired skills and knowledge to a wide variety of scientific and engineering disciplines wherever turbulence occurs. The elective courses and project offer opportunities to explore areas of applicability and for specialization. The majority of graduates are expected to move to other disciplines for employment or further study.

Teaching language

The courses are taught in English

Laboratories

Turbulence is a central research activity at the Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides de Lille – Kampé de Fériet (LMFL) and the Pprime Institute (P’). In a vast range of industries, the understanding and modeling of turbulent flows is the most important limiting factor for the technological quantum leap that is now urgently needed given the current pressing climatic and environmental demands constraints.

The training is heavily supported by the internationally leading expertise of LMFL’s and Pprime Institute’s turbulence researchers which covers all theoretical, computational and experimental aspects and covers the most advanced state-of-the-art research methods. At the end of their training, the students will be able to effectively face challenges related to turbulent flows in a vast ranges of areas from aeronautical and aerospace, energy and environmental engineering, to weather and climate prediction and geo/astrophysics.

Syllabus

Semester 1 Hours
UE1-1 Turbulence Theory 20
Tutorial 30
UE1-2 Experimental technique Theory, force and point measurement 20
Optical field measurement 20
Experimental practice 24
UE1-3 Numerical methods Programing language 20
Numerical analysis 35
Computer practice 20
UE1-4 Fluid Dynamics Mathematics 30
Dynamics of viscous incompressible flows 25
Dynamics of compressible flows and similarity 25
UE1-5 French Language 30
French 20
Semester 2 Hours
UE2-1 Advenced turbulence Theory 2 20
Advanced analysis 20
Turbulence transport 20
UE2-2 Numerical simulation CFD practices 20
LES & DNS 30
UE2-3 Applications Turbulence & turbomachinery 20
Aerodynamics 20
UE2-4 Indiv. research proj. 2,5 month
Semester 3 Hours
UE3-1 RANS/URANS/hybrid methods 40
Compressible turbulence 20
Stability & chaos 20
UE3-2 Aero-acoustics 20
Advanced signal processing 1 26
UE3-3 Advanced signal processing 2 22
Turbulent heat transfert 20
UE3-4 French culture 20
Indiv. Research proj. 4 month
Semester 4 Hours
UE4 Master thesis RANS/URANS/hybrid methods 4 months

About 50% of graduates works in industry and about 60% pursue a doctorate in an academic laboratory or in a company. Here are some examples of professional integration after obtaining the master aeronautic & space course turbulence:

  • PhD at Southampton university, Imperial College London, Trinity college Dublin, Rolls Royce, VKI, Portland university, Loughborough university, University of Poitiers, Lille, CEA Grenoble, Paris, EDF,…
  • Employment in industry at Altran (FR), Hitachi (JP), Sigma (SE), Analytical Method Inc Seatle (USA), Mercedez (IN), Tata consulting (IN), Cd-Adapco, Semcon AB (SE),…

At the end of the first year (M1) students must complete a 12-week project from April to June.

Some examples of internships:

  • « Etudes des interactions structures cohérentes/famille de structure cohérentes sur le champ turbulent autour d’un obstacle. » (Coria, Rouen)
  • « Identification de structures dans les écoulements par classification automatique » (LIMSI, Paris)

At the end of the second year (M2), students must complete a master’s thesis internship (5-6 months).

Some examples of internships:

  • « Turbulent boundary layer drag reduction using super-hydrophobic and engineered surfaces. » (Monash University)
  • «To determine the permeability of reinforcements of the carbon fiber via mesoscale simulations » (Safran Aircraft Engines)
  • « Modélisation de la combustion du méthane dans les organes de combustion des moteurs fusée » (CNES)

About the master

The master aeronautic & space major turbulence is jointly offered in English by Centrale Lille, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Mécanique et d’Aérotechnique from Poitiers and Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Ingénieurs from Poitiers.

Tuition fees: 7 000€/year

Download the brochure

The deadline for registration is May 20, 2020. However, as the number of places is limited, it is recommended to register as soon as possible.

0
positions for 2020/2021
Register online
Centrale Lille

Mention Aeronautic & space – parcours turbulence

Objectif de la formation

Acquérir les compétences théorique, numérique et expérimentale indispensables pour la compréhension la modélisation et le contrôle des écoulements turbulents et valorisable dans de nombreux domaines d’application

Le master aeronautic & space parcours turbulence est une formation de niveau international qui s’appuie très fortement sur les derniers développements de la recherche. Les étudiants sont formés au métier de la mécanique des fluides dans le but de poursuivre une carrière académique ou de rejoindre le secteur industriel. La formation permet d’acquérir des compétences théorique numérique et expérimentale nécessaires pour aborder des applications variées telles que l’aérodynamique, l’aéroacoustique, les turbomachines, la production d’énergie renouvelable, etc.

Objectifs pédagogiques

Le master aeronautic & space parcours turbulence a pour cible tous les secteurs industriels et de recherche confrontés à des écoulements turbulents. L’objectif est de doter les étudiants, à l’issue des deux ans de cursus, d’une solide formation théorique, numérique et expérimentale en turbulence, formation leur permettant d’aborder tous les aspects des écoulements turbulents et de leur couplage avec d’autres phénomènes physiques (transferts thermiques, combustion..).

Le but est d’alimenter les grandes entreprises européennes et les grands laboratoires de recherche concernés (environnement, combustion, moteurs, production d’énergie, conception de véhicules, systèmes fluides/thermiques/chimiques) en spécialistes de haut niveau, maîtrisant suffisamment la modélisation moderne de la turbulence pour être d’un apport significatif dans le développement des projets et de recherches.

Un accent particulier sera mis sur la modélisation numérique, notamment à l’aide de codes commerciaux, afin de bien préparer les étudiants à un avenir dans l’industrie aéronautique, automobile et ferroviaire qui utilise de façon intensive ces outils. Le contact, avec des problématiques actuelles de l’industrie, se fera de façon privilégiée au travers du stage final du master, pouvant être effectué chez les partenaires industriels et débouchant sur un « master thesis ».

Langues des enseignements

Les enseignements sont dispensés en anglais.

Laboratoires

La turbulence est une thématique centrale du Laboratoire de Mécanique des Fluides de Lille – Kampé de Fériet (LMFL) et l’Institut Pprime (P’) . La compréhension et la modélisation des écoulements turbulents sont les facteurs les plus contraignants pour pouvoir réaliser un saut technologique dans une large gamme de problèmes industriels et environnementaux.

La formation s’appuie sur les compétences des chercheurs du LMFL et de l’Institut Pprime qui couvrent les aspects théorique, numérique et expérimental de la turbulence en mettant en avant les méthodes les plus avancée de la recherche. Un étudiant diplômé sera capable d’appréhender les problèmes liés à la turbulence mais aussi la plupart des problèmes de la mécanique des fluides dans les domaines aussi variés que l’aéronautique, le transport, le spatial, l’énergie, l’environnement, le climat ou l’astrophysique.

Syllabus

Semestre 1 Heures élève
UE1-1 Turbulence Theory 20
Tutorial 30
UE1-2 Experimental technique Theory, force and point measurement 20
Optical field measurement 20
Experimental practice 24
UE1-3 Numerical methods Programing language 20
Numerical analysis 35
Computer practice 20
UE1-4 Fluid Dynamics Mathematics 30
Dynamics of viscous incompressible flows 25
Dynamics of compressible flows and similarity 25
UE1-5 French Language 30
French 20
Semestre 2 Heures élève
UE2-1 Advenced turbulence Theory 2 20
Advanced analysis 20
Turbulence transport 20
UE2-2 Numerical simulation CFD practices 20
LES & DNS 30
UE2-3 Applications Turbulence & turbomachinery 20
Aerodynamics 20
UE2-4 Indiv. research proj. 2,5 month
Semestre 3 Heures élève
UE3-1 RANS/URANS/hybrid methods 40
Compressible turbulence 20
Stability & chaos 20
UE3-2 Aero-acoustics 20
Advanced signal processing 1 26
UE3-3 Advanced signal processing 2 22
Turbulent heat transfert 20
UE3-4 French culture 20
Indiv. Research proj. 4 month
Semestre 4 Heures élève
UE4 Master thesis RANS/URANS/hybrid methods 4 months

Environ 50% des diplômés partent dans l’industrie et environ 60% poursuivent en doctorat en laboratoire académique ou bien en entreprise. Voici quelques exemples d’insertion professionnelle suite à l’obtention du master aeronautic & space parcours turbulence

  • PhD at Southampton university, Imperial College London, Trinity college Dublin, Rolls Royce, VKI, Portland university, Loughborough university, Universités de Poitiers, Lille, CEA Grenoble, Paris, EDF,…
  • Employment in industry at Altran (FR), Hitachi (JP), Sigma (SE), Analytical Method Inc Seatle (USA), Mercedez (IN), Tata consulting (IN), Cd-Adapco, Semcon AB (SE),…

En fin de première année (M1) les étudiants doivent réaliser un projet de 12 semaines de avril à juin.

Quelques exemples de stages :

  • « Etudes des interactions structures cohérentes/famille de structure cohérentes sur le champ turbulent autour d’un obstacle. » (Coria, Rouen)
  • « Identification de structures dans les écoulements par classification automatique » (LIMSI, Paris)

A la fin de la deuxième année (M2), les étudiants doivent réaliser un stage thèse de master (5-6 mois)

Quelques exemples de stages :

  • « Turbulent boundary layer drag reduction using super-hydrophobic and engineered surfaces. » (Monash University)
  • «To determine the permeability of reinforcements of the carbon fiber via mesoscale simulations » (Safran Aircraft Engines)
  • « Modélisation de la combustion du méthane dans les organes de combustion des moteurs fusée » (CNES)

A propos du master

Le master aeronautic & space parcours turbulence est proposé conjointement en anglais par Centrale Lille, l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Mécanique et d’Aérotechnique de Poitiers et l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Ingénieurs de Poitiers.

Les frais d’inscription s’élèvent à 7 000 € / an.

Télécharger la plaquette

La date limite d’inscription est le 20 mai 2020. Toutefois, le nombre de places étant limité, il est recommandé de s’inscrire le plus tôt possible.

0
places ouvertes pour 2020/2021
S’inscrire en ligne
Centrale Lille